Road to National Finals: Visayas teams

The grueling journey of the RVL starts with over 450 schools playing in the pre-qualifiers. The field was reduced to 94 in the Regional Finals and nine in the nationals. Let’s look back at how the teams representing Visayas made it all the way to the Rebisco Volleyball League 2018 National Finals.

Leyte National High School

Leyte National High School kicked off the Eastern Visayas regionals with a win over the Jiabong National High School, 25-12, 25-23. They defeated Ibarra National High School in their second game, 25-13, 25-13. They made their record 3-0 versus Leyte Progressive High School, 25-14, 25-11. Then, they swept Pool B of the Rebisco Volleyball League Eastern Visayas Regional Finals by defeating Matica-a National High School, 25-17, 25-12.

LNHS made quick work of ACLC College, 25-17 and 25-12 before winning the championship against St. Joseph College of Maasin, 25-15, 25-13, 25-15.

University of San Jose Recoletos

The University of San Jose Recoletos won the Rebisco Volleyball League 2018 Central Visayas championship by defeating University of Southern Philippines Foundation in straight sets, 25-17, 25-21, 25-23.

Bacolod Tay Tung High School

BTT made quick work of the Living Stones International School of Bacolod City for their first win, 25-6, 25-20. They followed it up with a victory over Bingawan National High School of Iloilo, 25-12, 25-11. Siliman University of Negros Oriental is their third victim to the tune of 25-14, 25-14. Then they swept Pool A of the Rebisco Volleyball League 2018 Western Visayas Regional Finals by defeating Trinity Christian School, 25-21, 25-21.

That set them with a semifinal match against University of St. La Salle which they won convincingly, 25-14 and 25-21. Bacolod Tay Tung completed its run for a second straight regional title when the defeated archrivals Central Philippine University in three sets: 25-21, 25-21, and 25-13.

Watch them play at the RVL Nationals 2018

Come and watch the future of Philippine volleyball at the Rebisco Volleyball League 2018 National Finals at the Ynares Sports Arena in Shaw Boulevard, Pasig City. Preliminary matches will be held from the 17th to the 22nd of November starting at 2 pm while the semifinal and medal matches are on the 23rd starting at 9 am. Admission is free! You can also watch the games at Solar Sports on cable TV and via livestream at the official Rebisco Volleyball League YouTube channel by clicking here.